Search

Around Augsburg


The City of Augsburg is located in southern Germany in the free state of Bavaria. Augsburg is the third largest city in Bavaria behind Munich and Nuremberg.

With more than 2,000 years of history, Augsburg is one of the oldest cities in Germany. Some of the most famous sites to visit in the city include the Fuggerei, the Augsburg “Unser liebe Frau” (Our Dear Lady) Cathedral, the Augsburg Town Hall, the synagogue, the Perlach Tower and the historic downtown.

The current population of Augsburg is 293,415. More than 20,000 of the city’s inhabitants are students at the University of Augsburg The average annual temperature is 8.4°C and the average annual precipitation is 850 mm/m2. The city of Augsburg measures 147 km2 in size. Only 36% of the city’s surface area is used for housing and transportation and nearly 24% is forest! And that’s something you’ll notice when you’re in the city. There are several parks throughout the city and then there is the huge Siebentischwald wooded area. There you can enjoy a walk, a jog or a bike ride.

augsburg

Augsburg’s economy is marked by large industries (e.g. MAN, KUKA, manroland, Renk, Osram) and historic companies (e.g. Brauhaus Riegele, Fugger Privatbank). Augsburg’s football team, known as FCA, and its ice hockey team, known as AEV, are well known beyond the city limits.

You can find more interesting information on the city of Augsburg as well as information about events in the city on the following pages.

Suche

Rund um Augsburg


Die Stadt Augsburg liegt im Süden der Bundesrepublik Deutschland, im Freistaat Bayern. Nach München und Nürnberg ist Augsburg die drittgrößte Stadt Bayerns.

Mit ihrer mehr als 2000-jährigen Geschichte gehört Augsburg zu den drei ältesten Städten Deutschlands. Zu den bekanntesten Sehenswürdigkeiten der Stadt gehören die Fuggerei, der Augsburger Dom „Unsere liebe Frau“, das Augsburger Rathaus, die Synagoge, der Perlachturm und die Altstadt.

Derzeit zählt Augsburg 293.415 Einwohner. Davon sind mehr als 19 000 Studenten an der Universität Augsburg. Die Jahresdurchschnittstemperatur beträgt 8,4°C, die Niederschlagsmenge pro Jahr 850 mm/m2. Das Stadtgebiet von Augsburg hat eine Gesamtfläche von 147 km2. Davon sind nur 36% Wohn- und Verkehrsflächen, aber fast 24% sind Wald! Und das merkt man auch. Es gibt einige Parks und den großen Siebentischwald. Sie laden ein zu einem Spaziergang, Jogging oder Fahrradtouren.

augsburg

Augsburgs Wirtschaft ist geprägt durch große Industrie (z. B. MAN, KUKA, manroland, Renk, Osram) und Traditionsunternehmen (z. B. Brauhaus Riegele, Fugger Privatbank). Über die Grenzen der Stadt hinaus bekannt sind im sportlichen Bereich der Fußballclub Augsburg, kurz FCA und der Augsburger Eishockey Verein, kurz AEV.

 

Weitere nützliche Informationen zur Stadt Augsburg mit interessanten Veranstaltungshinweisen finden Sie auf den folgenden Seiten.