Search

Parental leave, parental benefits & child benefits


Parental leave

Parental leave allows you to take time off to take care of your child without losing your connection to your professional life.

All employees have the right to take parental leave up until their child’s third birthday. You do not have to work while on parental leave. Your job will remain secure and your employer may not fire you. Fathers and mothers may take parental leave separately or together. Grandparents may also have a right to parental leave if the parents are still minors or in the final or penultimate year of a vocational training programme that began while the parent was still a minor.

The important thing is that you live with the child in the same household, are the person primarily responsible for taking care of and raising the child, and that you do not work more than 30 hours per week during your parental leave.

You must request parental leave with your employer at least seven weeks before your parental leave is to begin. Your employer must allow you to return to a position of equal value at the end of your parental leave.

Parental benefits

Parental benefits are financial assistance from the government for parents who want to raise their children themselves for a period of time after the child is born and do not want to be employed or fully employed for this reason during that time. Parents who were not working prior to the birth of their child may receive parental benefits. 

The most important information about parental benefits:

  • Parental benefits are provided in the amount of approx. 2/3 of the parents’ income with a limit of min. 300 EUR and a max. of 1,800 EUR.
  • Parental benefits are provided for 12 months.
  • If the mother and father choose to take parental leave separately from each other, they can receive parental benefits for a max. of 14 months. In this case, one parent may receive parental benefits for a min. of 2 and a max. of 12 months. Single parents may receive the full 14 months of parental benefits if they are receiving it as compensation for lost income.
  • You may receive parental benefits even if you were not employed prior to the birth of your child.

In order to receive parental benefits, you must meet the following requirements:

  • You are taking care of and raising your child yourself after its birth.
  • You live in the same household as your child.
  • You do not work more than 30 hours per week.
  • Your place of residence is in Germany.

Citizens of EU member states, Iceland, Liechtenstein, Norway and Sweden as well as German citizens have the right to receive parental benefits if they work or live in Germany. For other foreign citizens: You may receive parental benefits if you have a permanent residence permit. If you have a residence permit, you may only receive parental benefits if you or the other parent have a permit to work in Germany or are already working in Germany with a work permit. You should speak with an adviser with regards to the exact rules and regulations.

Parental benefits must be applied for in writing. The German states have set up Parental Benefits Offices for receiving applications.

Child benefits

Parents have to right to child benefits up until the 18th birthday of their child, provided the child lives in Germany, a member EU state or in a country that is a member of the EEC Treaty. Child benefits may be extended until the child’s 25th birthday if the child is in a vocational training programme or a student.

Citizens of EU member states, Iceland, Liechtenstein, Norway and Sweden as well as German citizens have the right to receive child benefits if they work or live in Germany.

Child benefits - Amount

Parents receive 184 EUR per child per month for the first two children, 190 EUR for the third child and 215 EUR for each additional child. Child benefits must be applied for at the Family Treasury (Familienkasse) of the Employment Office (Agentur für Arbeit). Families may also receive deductions for children who are dependants on their income taxes. The form for applying for child benefits is available at the Family Treasury (or online by clicking on the following link).

(Source: Federal Ministry for Migration and Refugees)

Suche

Elternzeit, Elterngeld & Kindergeld


Elternzeit

Die Elternzeit bietet Ihnen die Möglichkeit, Ihr Kind zu betreuen und gleichzeitig den Anschluss an das Berufsleben nicht zu verlieren.

Als Angestellter haben Sie bis zum dritten Geburtstag Ihres Kindes einen Anspruch auf Elternzeit. In diesem Zeitraum müssen Sie nicht arbeiten - ihr Arbeitsplatz bleibt bestehen und darf vom Arbeitgeber nicht gekündigt werden. Elternzeit können Mütter und Väter alleine oder gemeinsam nehmen. Auch Großeltern können einen Anspruch auf Elternzeit haben, wenn der Elternteil noch minderjährig ist oder sich im letzten oder vorletzten Jahr einer Ausbildung befindet, die aufgenommen wurde, als der junge Elternteil noch minderjährig war.

Wichtig ist, dass Sie mit dem Kind in einem Haushalt leben, es überwiegend selbst betreuen und erziehen und während der Elternzeit nicht mehr als 30 Wochenstunden arbeiten.

Den Antrag auf Elternzeit müssen Sie spätestens sieben Wochen vor Beginn der Elternzeit bei Ihrem Arbeitgeber einreichen. Nach der Elternzeit muss Ihr Arbeitgeber Ihnen einen gleichwertigen Arbeitsplatz bieten.

Elterngeld

Das Elterngeld ist eine staatliche Unterstützung für Eltern, die ihr Kind nach der Geburt eine Zeit lang selbst betreuen möchten und deshalb während dieser Zeit nicht oder nicht voll erwerbstätig sind. Auch Eltern, die vor der Geburt nicht berufstätig waren, können Elterngeld erhalten. 

Die wichtigsten Informationen zum Elterngeld:

  • Es beträgt rund zwei Drittel des bisherigen Einkommens – mindestens 300 und höchstens 1.800 Euro.
  • Elterngeld wird für zwölf Monate gezahlt.
  • Wenn Mutter und Vater sich die Elternzeit teilen, bekommen Sie zusammen maximal 14 Monate lang Elterngeld. Ein Elternteil kann dabei mindestens zwei und höchstens zwölf Monate Elterngeld beziehen. Alleinerziehenden stehen die vollen 14 Monate Elterngeld zu, wenn sie es als Ausgleich für wegfallendes Einkommen erhalten.
  • Auch, wenn Sie vor der Geburt keine Arbeitsstelle hatten, können Sie Elterngeld erhalten.

Um Elterngeld zu erhalten, müssen Sie folgende Voraussetzungen erfüllen:

  • Sie betreuen und erziehen ihr Kind nach der Geburt selbst.
  • Sie leben mit Ihrem Kind in einem Haushalt zusammen.
  • Sie sind nicht mehr als 30 Stunden pro Woche berufstätig.
  • Sie haben Ihren Wohnsitz in Deutschland.

Staatsangehörige von Mitgliedstaaten der EU, Islands, Liechtensteins, Norwegens und der Schweiz haben ebenso wie Deutsche einen Anspruch auf Elterngeld, wenn sie in Deutschland erwerbstätig sind oder in Deutschland wohnen. Für andere Ausländer gilt: Menschen mit einer Niederlassungserlaubnis können Elterngeld erhalten. Wer eine Aufenthaltserlaubnis besitzt, hat nur dann einen Anspruch auf Elterngeld, wenn sie oder er auch zur Erwerbstätigkeit in Deutschland berechtigt ist oder hier schon erlaubt gearbeitet hat. Lassen Sie sich über die genauen Regelungen beraten.

Das Elterngeld muss schriftlich beantragt werden. Die Bundesländer haben hierfür Elterngeldstellen eingerichtet.

Kindergeld

Eltern haben bis zum 18. Geburtstag ihres Kindes einen Anspruch auf Kindergeld, wenn das Kind in Deutschland lebt, in einem Mitgliedstaat der Europäischen Union oder in einem Staat, auf den das Abkommen über den Europäischen Wirtschaftsraum Anwendung findet. Macht Ihr Kind eine Ausbildung oder studiert, verlängert sich der Anspruch bis maximal zum 25. Geburtstag.

Staatsangehörige von Mitgliedstaaten der EU, Islands, Liechtensteins, Norwegens und der Schweiz haben ebenso wie Deutsche einen Anspruch auf Kindergeld, wenn sie in Deutschland erwerbstätig sind oder in Deutschland wohnen.

Höhe des Kindergelds

Für die ersten beiden Kinder erhält man pro Kind monatlich je 184 Euro, für das dritte Kind 190 Euro und für jedes weitere Kind je 215 Euro. Das Kindergeld muss bei der Familienkasse der Agentur für Arbeit beantragt werden. Zusätzlich werden Familien so genannte Kinderfreibeträge bei der Lohn- und Einkommensteuer gewährt. Das Antragsformular für das Kindergeld erhalten Sie bei der Familienkasse unter folgendem Link.

(Quelle: Bundesamt für Migration und Flüchtlinge)