Search

Pension insurance


Pension insurance is part of the statutory social insurance in Germany. If you are a full-time or part-time employee with a work contract with the University of Augsburg or another employer in Germany, your employer will automatically deduct your pension insurance premiums from your gross salary.

Calculating retirement age

EU member states, EEA states, Switzerland and treaty partners are required to take time worked in Germany into account when reviewing whether or not you have met the requirements for your pension. Time in which you were insured in a country that does not have a social insurance treaty with the Federal Republic of Germany cannot be counted towards fulfilling the requirements for retirement for German pension insurance policies.

If you worked in various countries during your career and paid premiums to different pension insurance funds, you should contact the insurance providers in the respective countries with regards to your benefits. Please note that the minimum time that a person must work in order to have any pension claim varies from country to country.

In general, you will not receive a full pension from one country that accounts for time worked in other countries. Exceptions are only made to prevent mini-pensions. The pension insurance premiums you pay in each country remain in standing until you have reached the retirement age based on the laws of the respective country. Insurance companies in each country grant pensions based on the laws of the country. This means that you may receive multiple pensions.

Reimbursement of pension insurance premiums

If you return to a country that does not have a social insurance treaty with Germany, you can request reimbursement for the pension insurance premiums you paid in Germany. You may file an application for reimbursement with German Pension Insurance after a waiting period of 2 years.

(Source: Euraxess Deutschland)

You can find additional information on pension insurance at German Pension Insurance, the Federal Ministry for Labour and Social Affairs under “Our topics/Pensions“ and Euraxess Deutschland.

A compilation of all the essential information can be found in the “Working in Germany and in Foreign Countries Without a Treaty“ and “Living and Working in Europe“ brochures available from German Pension Insurance.

Suche

Rentenversicherung


Die Rentenversicherung ist Teil der gesetzlichen Sozialversicherung in Deutschland. Falls Sie an der Universität Augsburg oder bei einem anderen Arbeitgeber in Deutschland als Arbeitnehmer angestellt sind und eine Voll- oder Teilzeitstelle haben, führt Ihr Arbeitgeber von Ihrem Bruttogehalt automatisch Rentenversicherungsbeiträge ab.

Anrechnung von Rentenzeiten

EU-Mitgliedstaaten, EWR-Staaten, die Schweiz oder Abkommenspartner müssen bei der Prüfung ihrer Anspruchsvoraussetzungen Rentenzeiten, die in Deutschland geleistet wurden, berücksichtigen. Versicherungszeiten aus einem Staat mit dem die Bundesrepublik Deutschland kein Sozialversicherungsabkommen geschlossen hat können nicht mit deutschen Versicherungszeiten zur Erfüllung der Anspruchsvoraussetzungen zusammengerechnet werden.

Wenn Sie im Laufe Ihres Berufslebens in verschiedenen Staaten gearbeitet und Beiträge in die jeweilige Sozialversicherung geleistet haben, sollten Sie sich rechtzeitig bei den Versicherungsträgern der einzelnen Staaten nach Ihren Ansprüchen erkundigen. Beachten Sie, dass die Mindestzeiten, die man gearbeitet haben muss, um überhaupt einen Rentenanspruch zu haben, von Land zu Land variieren können.

Grundsätzlich gilt, dass die Zahlung einer Gesamtrente durch einen Staat unter Berücksichtigung der Versicherungszeiten in den anderen Staaten nicht vorgesehen ist. Ausnahmen bestehen nur zur Vermeidung von Kleinstrenten. In jedem Land, in dem Sie versichert waren und Beiträge zur Rentenversicherung entrichtet haben, bleiben die Rentenversicherungsbeiträge daher solange bestehen, bis das nach den Rechtsvorschriften des jeweiligen Staates vorgesehene Rentenalter erreicht ist. Der Versicherungsträger jedes Staates gewährt Renten nach seinen nationalen Vorschriften. Das bedeutet, dass Sie gegebenenfalls verschiedene Renten beziehen werden.

Erstattung von Rentenbeiträgen

Wenn Sie in ein Land zurückkehren, mit dem es kein Sozialversicherungsabkommen gibt, können Sie sich Ihre in Deutschland gezahlten Rentenbeiträge zurückerstatten lassen. Nach einer Wartefrist von 2 Jahren können Sie bei der Deutschen Rentenversicherung einen Antrag auf Rückerstattung der Beiträge stellen.

(Quelle: Euraxess Deutschland)

Weitere Informationen zur Rentenversicherung finden Sie bei der Deutschen Rentenversicherung, dem Bundesministerium für Arbeit und Soziales unter der Rubrik „Unsere Themen/Rente“ und Euraxess Deutschland.

Auch die Broschüren „Arbeiten in Deutschland und im vertragslosen Ausland“ und „Leben und Arbeiten in Europa“ der Deutschen Rentenversicherung fassen wichtige Informationen zusammen.